"The place for Lamb"
Level 1, 53 Shotover Street
Roaring Megs History
1880 ‘ish Original cottage built in Skippers Canyon to accommodate a “madam” called Roaring Meg
1922 Gold rush ended, Roaring Megs cottage brought to Queenstown on horse drawn carts and placed on a site adjacent to this restaurant
1922-1981 Cottage used as a private dwelling
1981 Roaring Megs Restaurant established in the cottage, as one of the first “fine dining” restaurants in Queenstown
1990 Dominique Jeanneret & Peter Gertsch, both originally from Switzerland, purchased the restaurant and added a touch of European influence to the menu
1996 Peter Gertsch left to pursue his career in Blenheim and has since moved back to Switzerland
1996 Sharon Jeanneret, originally from England, joined the Megs team as Manager/Owner
2003 (April) Due to redevelopment, Roaring Megs restaurant is forced to close. Cottage moved again to Frankton, but later abandoned. Now used for storing bee hives and is located at the foot of the Remarkables.
2003(October) Roaring Megs restaurant reopened on current site, showcasing antiques, coal range, fireplace and pictures from the old cottage
2019 (October) Larry and Lancy bought the restaurant.